FIRST GRADE DROPOUT Drops In (plus a giveaway!)

Thank you, Tara!!

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

The first time I heard the title FIRST GRADE DROPOUT I said (yet again), “Why didn’t I think of that? Brilliant!”

FGD_1

(Also, the song “Beauty School Dropout” played through my head a gazillion times.)

beautyschooldropoutThis new book from dream-team Audrey Vernick and Matthew Cordell did not disappoint. In fact, it was very different from what I imagined and I loved it because it was so unexpected and clever.

You might already know Audrey from her BUFFALO and BASEBALL books. And, if you don’t know Matthew by now, I might have to whack you upside the head with one of his delightful picture books. (Don’t worry, I’ll use a paperback so it won’t hurt.)

Is Your Buffalo ready for kindergarten  troublegum

Audrey once told me that humor often stems from inserting the absurd into the ordinary. That’s why I enjoy her BUFFALO (which, according to the title, is really MY buffalo…or YOURS…definitely NOT HERS). On one hand, it’s totally crazy to…

View original post 1,938 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

