PiBoIdMo: The Promise

Last year I participated in the kind of event I normally run from: PiBoIdMo (picture book idea month). The prospect of coming up with a new picture book idea every day for a 30-day month was, of course, horrifying. I am not generally a joiner in writing-based activities; my process is its own dysfunctional self, working on a clock and calendar that bears no resemblance to what the world has accepted as as its clock and calendar.

As a writer, I’m more like a reluctant exerciser. I love having done it, but sometimes the prospect of having to do it makes me want to cry. The promise, however, of somehow muddling through and, in the end, having 30 spanking new story ideas,  was an irresistible lure. And I did it.

Some good came out of it too. I’ll be blogging about that on the PiBoIdMo blog next week. For now, if the idea sounds intriguing and you want to learn more, or sign up, visit Tara Lazar’s PiBoIdMo blog.

Until then, Bruce Springsteen’s “The Promise,” which features my favorite kind of circa-1978 gravelly vocal. It’s interesting, too, that the song ends with the words “throw it all away,” perhaps not the most apt or inspiring message for idea generation. But it’s a kickass song that I’ve loved for, oh dear, more than three decades. And the title is “The Promise.” Just saying.

About Audrey Vernick

Audrey Vernick writes books for young readers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to PiBoIdMo: The Promise

  1. Tara Lazar says:

    So thrilled and honored to have you guest blogging! And participating! Are you bringing your buffalo?

  2. kamikinard says:

    I can’t wait to hear about the good that came out of PiBoIdMo for you! Looking forward to next week’s post!

  3. SevenAcreSky says:

    Your PiBoIdMo post was great! Thanks for sharing your experience. Rambling through your other posts here, and enjoying your thoughts.

  4. Pingback: Pi Bo Id Mo: Throw me a deadline & I will write a story « Positive Parental Participation

Leave a Reply

