The High Point

One year ago yesterday I wrote a Mother’s Day post in honor of To Mama With Love.

One year ago today, I reached the high point on my blog–the greatest number of hits in a single day.

I came to blogging semi-reluctantly and 13 months later, I still have reservations. I frequently consider stopping, but a recent long hiatus notwithstanding, I’m still here.

I sometimes look back at that Mother’s Day post for clues–it was so different from most of the writing I do here.

It felt good to write it, to sort of nod at the sadness that’s behind some of my writing-related achievements. But there’s a part of me that feels all this should really be private. I suspect it’s right next to the part of me that would feel enormously relieved if someone demanded that I stop blogging. (That I picture that someone as the illustration from my childhood edition of JACK AND THE BEANSTALK is probably something best saved for another day.)

But as I have said before, I enjoy getting to know the authors and illustrators behind the books I admire. And the readers I’ve met here. That’s the best thing about blogging, without a doubt.

And there’s good stuff in the pipeline: a writer/illustrator team that shares a first name and an adorable book, an illustrator making his debut as an author and leaving the artwork to someone else, and a very creative nonfiction writer who found success by moving WAY beyond her comfort zone.

So stay tuned. I’m still here. For now.

About Audrey Vernick

Audrey Vernick writes books for young readers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The High Point

  1. Lovely, poignant post. I read and love all of them. xo

Leave a Reply

