Opening Day 2012

Usually, by the time opening day rolls around, I feel the shoulders-finally-leaving-ear-territory relief that comes with having survived another east coast winter. This year, with a total of maybe two inches at the deepest measuring point, it feels a little unearned, but I’ll take it.

I’m ready to go. My fantasy teams look promising. My walking-the-dogs-while-listening-to-the-game radio is batteried up (and this year a puppy joins our bittersweetly named Rookie, who just turned 11). Above all, my baseball-book-cup runneth over.

BROTHERS AT BAT: THE TRUE STORY OF AN AMAZING ALL-BROTHER BASEBALL TEAM officially hit the shelves yesterday, though it had been showing up early in many places. The book is gorgeously illustrated by Steven Salerno (whom I met for the first time this weekend–what a treat!). It has received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and School Library Journal, was praised as “a remarkable story” by the Wall Street Journal, and I’m told the New York Times has some very kind words this Sunday. Holy cow.

Cal Ripken and Cal Ripken, father and son

I’m still reeling from the fact that Hall of Famer Cal Ripken Jr. himself praised the book. (“I was lucky to play in the big leagues with my brother as a teammate and my dad as our manager. It was a very special time. The story of the Acerra brothers brought those memories back. It is a wonderful illustration of what a great game baseball is and how it brings families together on many different levels. BROTHERS AT BAT is a story any baseball fan will enjoy and one that we all should know.”)

D’oh!

Rereeading this post has made me squirmingly aware of how self-promotional it is. For what it’s worth (31 cents?) I mean it more in the way a seven-year-old would: CAN YOU BELIEVE THIS??

Because I can’t.

I’m mini-blog-touring this week. There’s a lovely piece here, on a website all teachers, librarians, and parents should know about. And I’ll be appearing here tomorrow, (there will be a tremendous giveaway you won’t want to miss).

I’ll be back with interviews next week (Ame Dyckman and Dan Yaccarino!).

But for now, enjoy opening day. I can’t get enough of this video–

Play ball.

About Audrey Vernick

Audrey Vernick writes books for young readers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

