Noteworthy?

I thoroughly enjoyed my interview with NEW YORK TEACHER‘s Ellie Spielberg. And I’m honored to be included as a NOTEWORTHY GRADUATE of New York City’s public schools in this profile.

It has made me wonder whether report cards/permanent records were consulted. Back then we received Excellent, Very Good, Fair, something else (Needs Improvement?) and Unsatisfactory.

While I believe I normally scored mostly Excellents, I seem to recall that one year I received a U for “self-control,” about which I still feel an odd mix of shame and pride.

Lesson learned: you can outrun your permanent record card.

About Audrey Vernick

Audrey Vernick writes books for young readers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Noteworthy?

  1. Cynthia Willis says:

    I like that you feel a mix of shame and pride over that U for self-control. Sometimes we just need to cut loose a bit, right? : )

Leave a Reply

