Finding Friendship in a Book

I’ve always been a fairly inarticulate critic, an especially embarrassing quality in a writer.  I know when I love something, but I get a little tongue-tied when I try to explain the reasons. It’s a visceral thing, that art-love connection, hard for me to translate into language.

So I always ooohh and aaahh when I come across an especially articulate explanation of an arty-phenomenon. It happened just yesterday, when reading Kathleen T. Horning’s interview with Norton Juster and Jules Feiffer in the October issue of SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL.

Feiffer describes exactly what I’m trying to get at with this Literary Friendships blog thing.

“One of the wonderful things about children’s books is that a kid can read something and find in the book a friendship, an ally, something he doesn’t have at home. He can create a relationship with the text that is profound, in a way that is different from any other experience he has. And then he can look back on this book and others as one of the big changing moments of his life.”

Exactly. Thank you, Jules Feiffer.

About Audrey Vernick

Audrey Vernick writes books for young readers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finding Friendship in a Book

  1. Angela Reynolds says:

    I love this ! I had many such friendships as a child. Trixie Belden was my hero. I remember escaping into books, just knowing that there was more out there than what my small (and sometimes narrow-minded) farm community offered. I think this is what made me become a children’s librarian — if I could give those literary friendships to a child, then my purpose on this earth is fulfilled….

  2. Angela–your comment gave me the chills! What a privilege to be in a position to give those literary friendships to a child–what’s better than that?

  3. swtomp says:

    I love this! I remember that feeling oh so well…

    Thanks!

  4. Lovely. And thank YOU for reposting. Inarticulate, however, you are not…

Leave a Reply

